Login to ZARP
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Requesting Assistance

Requesting Assistance 4 years 9 months ago #1183642

I'm going to need some help from someone who is good with PC's, in this case, Laptops.

Alright, so just to clarify this, I'm no professional, I have decent knowledge when it comes to computers but nonetheless, I'm going to need someone's help. To point this out in the beginning, so you don't have to go through the whole post to figure out what the problem is about, my laptop is overheating.

About a month ago, I started to notice how the temperature of my CPU started going insane, and recently it started reaching 95° when playing games such as GTA V, Battlefield 1, SCP: Secret Laboratory, and lower temperatures such as 80-85° when playing Minecraft, Garry's Mod, etc. My GPU too tends to reach 90° when playing high-end games (and in scenarios even 95° after playing a game for longer), for reasons I fully don't understand. In idle mode, the CPU reaches about 70°, and under heavier load, 75°.

The CPU utilization whilst playing most of the mentioned games doesn't go far over 40-45%, hence why I think such a temperature shouldn't be present, unless under some insane conditions.

Here are the (relevant) specifications:

Product number: 5QU51EA
Product name: HP Gaming Pavilion - 15-cx0035nm
Microprocessor: Intel® Core™ i5-8300H (2.3 GHz base frequency, up to 4 GHz with Intel® Turbo Boost Technology, 8 MB cache, 4 cores)
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 4GB GDDR5 RAM
Chipset: Intel® HM370
Memory: Standard 8 GB DDR4-2666 SDRAM (2 x 4 GB)
Hard drive: 2 TB 5400 rpm SATA