Login to ZARP
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: My Sincerest Apologies

My Sincerest Apologies 5 years 9 months ago #985415

I haven't done a post like this for a while. The last thread I made where I openly discussed my CM campaign as well as my current plans and general feelings about the job has been a few months ago, and I never went into great detail.

I'm going to start off with providing everyone that happens to be interested with some necessary context. If you have no interest in the general state of my life, feel free to skip this and go to the first sentence that I have written in bold.

As some of you may or may not know, I studied Journalism for the past year. It's been a blast for the most part, but it was extremely hard work as well. Writing articles and reviews really doesn't come as naturally as I had hoped, and the time to carefully research the necessary literature had been disregarded by me to focus on the community instead.

When I wrote my 7000-words Community Manager application (which took me four full days together with all the necessary research) I was actually supposed to dedicate my time on writing reports and learning for my tests. It was at that time that I made a choice: dedicate my time to a college course that, although immensly enjoyable, would only have the preferable result if I would fully shift my focus entirely to it, or do something that I have been anticipating and working towards for over a year that would not only be my "dream job" but also provide me the necessary experience that would hopefully benefit me later in my life.

I believe it's rather obvious which choice I made, and I was officially told I failed my studies mid-June. If I wanted to I could still provide all the necessary work in August and get all my college credit regardless, but this summer I realised that I simply don't want to put in the amount of work needed to finish my journalism studies whilst also focussing on this community.